Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 800 Cruise Ships
Home Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Tickers Search
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star
9/10 based on 261 reviews
10 written reviews
Adventure of the Seas
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: This was our 6th cruise sailing with Royal Caribbean and the second time on the Adventure of the Sea. We sailed on a number of cruise lines including Carnival, Norwegian & Princess. To be honest, we felt this time around, the cruise on the Adventure of the Sea was not up to par compared to our previous experiences.
My wife and I felt improvements are needed on this Royal Caribbean ship, especially for the entertainment offered on the pool deck & lacking production shows, if they want to keep up with the other cruise lines.
We realize were on a Caribbean Cruise, but that Caribbean music by the same group over and over for seven days, playing the same style music, gets boring. We have been on other cruise lines that have way more variety for their pool deck entertainment.
In addition, of the seven nights & only two nights with production shows with the Royal Caribbean singers & dancers, we felt the entertainment lacked. In addition, why did was a production show scheduled on Super Bowl Night?? That made no sense what so ever. One night in place of a production show was a mediocre comedian, anther night was an impressionist & then anther was a flutist. The night the flutist played the theater was not even half full; we never ever saw a so called production show lacking so much audience. Then to top it off, before the first song was even over, rows of people including my wife & I got up and left. We felt this was the worst show we ever witnessed on a cruise ship.
We also felt the food this time around was not up to par also, especially in the Windjammer Lunch Buffet. Thank god there were hamburgers every day, it lacked variety. I wanted to mention the great service we received from Alina Khafizova every day at the Windjammer Buffet, and she even filled in as our assistant waiter at dinner, she went over and beyond, very helpful & friendly.
We did observe on a number of occasions though that the tables in the Windjammer do not get cleaned properly. It seems the tables are wiped off with just a rag with no cleaning spray of any sort, so they are left streaky & unclean.
I was totally shocked to witness a couple tables being wiped off by a left over cloth napkin after clearing there dishes.
The main dining room food had good & bad choices. The chicken marsala was terrible, thick chunks of chicken, not pounded & tenderized, that were very tough. The marsala sauce was very bland / tasteless. Another night deep fried fish was served, we could not eat it. Why not broil it instead?? We even told the female waiter in charge of the dining room that improvements need to be addressed if she wants to keep up with the other cruise lines. Also, we noticed you could only get shrimp cocktail on formal nights and they did away with it on the other nights. In September of 2015 we wailed on the Norwegian Breakaway and I had mentioned at our dining table that the one thing we really liked about Royal Caribbean was they served shrimp cocktail every night and then to find out the first night of the cruise Royal did away with it. As far as our wait staff team, Rommel Isidro and Maksym Kolesnikob were both outstanding.
Our stateroom attendant was outstanding, friendly & helpful l. She always left our room spotless & cozy. The refrigerator in our cabin did not chill anything and needed to be replaced.
I must mention, something needs to be done for safety reasons especially when entering the Ice Show. When those doors open it’s like a stampede, there needs to be some order when entering. Also, Royal Caribbean management needs to inform their staff of the saving seats for the show. I mean people were saving rows of seats. I had mentioned to a few of the attendants that it is not fair to save that many seats at one time, but nothing was done to correct it. I blame management for not training them properly. We were in line 15 minutes prior to the show and ended up sitting 2 rows apart because of all the seat saving, there was no order what so ever.
My wife & I feel Royal Caribbean Cruises went downhill since our first one. But if these changes could be addressed, they could be back on top like years ago.

By ronandrea1977
2016-02-18 14:13:10

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
4.6/103.5/107/104.5/108.5/102.5/101.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: it was a nice trip =)

By myShips Facebook User
2012-03-01 04:44:16

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: Love the Promenade deck on these ships. Love it. Also, love the Promenade Cafe. This cruise put us at Diamond Level. Sweet

By myShips Facebook User
2011-02-27 10:11:15

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Was okay overall, but my first time sailing with RCI and found that things that come as standard on other cruise lines - you have to pay for with them. Staff were mediocre right till the last day of the cruise.......almost tip time!!! Would only sail with them again if I got a good deal.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-11-06 05:11:42

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
6.3/106/108/108/106/106/104/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: The activities for teens made this an excellent choice for our family.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-08-11 08:04:12

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: This was my very first cruise and it was amazing. We went to Aruba (the best), Curacao, Dominica and St. Thomas. Everyone was so friendly. My only regret is that I should have purchased excursions through RC instead of going off on my own, but in this years trip to Mexico i did and it was worth it!!!

By myShips Facebook User
2010-07-04 02:30:33

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star

Ship Review: This boat was amazing! Although the food wasn't as good, the service and hospitality was amazing! There was something for everyone to do. I loved it!

By myShips Facebook User
2010-07-02 12:50:18

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.3/1010/1010/1010/1010/108/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Didn't like this ship as much, although the Voyager class are basically the same...this wasn't.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-03 18:01:12

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8/108/1010/1010/106/106/108/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star

Ship Review: We had a GREAT time!!! Would recommend this to anyone!

By myShips Facebook User
2010-05-14 08:43:29

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.3/1010/1010/108/1010/108/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star

Ship Review: Beautiful boat, because of its shear size make it somewhat of a hassle to get from one end to the other on certain floors. Other than that, this is one of my favorite ships that I have sailed so far

By myShips Facebook User
2010-04-09 01:43:03

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.3/1010/108/108/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: We had traveled on this same ship three years prior. What a difference three years makes. This ship was dirty and the level of service had deteriorated. Our biggest frustration was the cruise staff would not enforce their own rules. Other passengers seemed to get away with whatever they wanted. I will never sail on this ship again!

By myShips Facebook User
2010-02-06 10:06:58

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
5/104/108/106/104/104/104/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Add Tip or Discussion
Share this page
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews