Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 800 Cruise Ships
Home News Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Timelines Tickers Apps Search
Home > Reviews

Cruise Ship Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 1299 reviews

Norwegian Dawn - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Norwegian Dawn
Cruise Line: Norwegian Cruise Line
Ship Rating: 3/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Strannik
2016-06-27 16:47:14

Report this review

Ship Review: Last year I was planning to write a review about my bad experience with Norwegian Sun during my cruise to Alaska but later decided not to do it. This year I took another cruise with NCL on Norwegian Dawn to the western Caribbean. It was the last trip of Norwegian Dawn before the multimillion dollar renovation and it came as no surprise that the ship was outdated and stained. But my review isn’t going to be about that, just let me mention that we did not use the pool and jacuzzis because they were old and dirty. Hopefully these problems will be fixed during the renovation, so there is no need to mention them.

But the renovation project by itself brought up another completely different problem normally not encountered on other ships. NCL decided to save time and money and start renovation during the cruise by performing some work at sea. It was very inconvenient and annoying having piles of plywood stocked on decks, workers removing old paint and repainting, and so on. Some of the passengers reported workers entering their cabins to perform work on their balconies.
Lesson learned: do not book a trip on a ship right before it is scheduled for dry dock.

Now on to things that can’t be fixed by renovation. First of all, I could not stop comparing this ship to a Norwegian Sun. Even though the Norwegian Sun is smaller than the Norwegian Dawn (78,309 GT vs 92,250 GT) inside, the ocean view and balcony cabins on the Sun are bigger than on the Dawn. Our tiny oceanview cabin was entirely occupied by the bed, leaving us no room for any movement other than going in and out.

The cabin service was almost nonexistent. On the sixth day of our cruise we ran out of soap - both hard soap and body wash. We discovered this only when we returned from the offshore excursion, and it took three phone calls to the Help desk and a lot of waiting to get the supplies.

The entertainment was boring even compared to the Sun and the TV on board the ship was running same the movies all 10 days.

We all know Latitudes Rewards Program is not the best in the industry. For example, as a silver member on Cunard I receive one free hour of Internet, and I do not have to buy any of their Internet packages. As a silver member on NCL I receive only 30 minutes free and only if I buy the 250 minute Internet package. But when I bought the 250 minute Internet package on Norwegian Dawn I did not receive my Latitudes rewards. I tried to talk to several people: the Internet manager, Help desk, and the Hotel manager without any results. The Internet manager I talked to first was very rude and did not listen to my complaint at all.

To be objective I should mention a few good things about this cruise. First and foremost the food was not bad at all. We loved the Le Bistro and Modesto restaurants and the food in the main dining restaurant and buffet was OK.

Of course buffet could have had more variety, and some improvements could be made, like advising the waiters not to grab plates without asking permission.

The ports of calls we visited during this cruise were also good. In my opinion it was a very good combination of exciting destinations to reach in one cruise. But this brings me to another matter often discussed on various forums by fellow passengers: not enough time in port. Even when our ship was scheduled to be in most ports from 8 AM until 5 PM the real timeframe for the passengers to be offshore was from 8:30 AM until 4:30 PM. In most ports sometimes even less. This is definitely not long enough to enjoy time offshore in a new port. Sometimes the distance to the next destination dictates a short time period that the ship can stay in port. Not in our case. Four of our ports of calls where in very close proximity to each other, sometimes less than 200 miles
(the distance from Costa Maya to Cozumel) but we still did not stay in port long enough. I wish Cruise companies will reconsider their position on this matter.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
3/103/102/102/100.5/108/102.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Crown Princess - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Crown Princess
Cruise Line: Princess Cruises
Ship Rating: 3.2/10
Destination: Alaska - Inside Passage

By Roschepperle
2016-06-21 22:10:30

Report this review

Ship Review: We wanted to share our recent cruise experience to Alaska on the Crown Princess, May 6th thru 13th.
We have been on several cruises in the past and never have we experienced such disregard for the passengers. There are several things that went wrong with this Cruise: customer service was rude and condescending, the food was cold and nasty, and the ship was dirty on decks. This was Just an overall horrible experience. This cruise line started out bad and continued to go downhill.

We got to the cruise ship terminal early and went thru 2 customs lines; the entire procedure to get on board took about 5 hours. Which lead to a 4 hour delay in departure! Days and hours changed, times lost and wasted to the itinerary. Princess thought it was a good idea to come into Juneau from 2:30 to 11:30, would have worked, but changing us to come in on a Sunday (Mother’s Day) the town shut down at 7:30, wasting 4 hours in port.

Most of the food staff we’re rude! If you wanted something hot and fresh you have to fight with them to make that happen. Every food line you’re forced to use the hand sanitizer and if you didn’t they wouldn’t give you a plate. You think the food would have been fresh and hot. On most day’s we found the food to be undercooked or had been sitting out way too long. This was a reoccurring theme throughout the cruise. This is why I was extremely sick and retired to our cabin the first day.

The ship was dirty in areas; our cabin had stains on the pillow. The hot tub in the rear of the ship was not maintained, very dirty, with bottles, glass, trash, used towels, and the staff had the nets rolled into a ball were it could be tripped over. The crew painting near the food line, the smell of oil based paint was so strong and so close to the food eat made it hard to eat. We tried to enjoy the movie under the stars, but when we arrived there were no clean blankets but plenty of dirty blankets lying around. The blankets finally arrived 30 minutes into the movie.

On our way back home to Los Angeles we completed the survey received from Princess Cruise line. On the 18th Kyle from Princess called we went over the trauma we had experienced on the boat, all the memories lost and things we missed in Alaska. Kyle said there is nothing that he could do, they don’t have any control of what happens at the ports and that we signed paper work saying that we (Princess) has the right to change the itinerary and the only thing they would do for us if we travel with them again, is that they might be able to give us $100.00 each on board credit or a free meal. My husband laughed and said he would follow up with a letter and post on several travel websites about our experience. Kyle seemed a bit cavalier about it and said “that’s your right, go ahead.”

We followed up our letter to the president and customer relations department of Princess Cruise and Kyle return or call and offered us 250 pp discount on a future cruises. Which was still laughable and we haven’t heard back from there president yet.

We planned this trip months in advance. We took the time looking into things like cost, itinerary, towns, excursions, flights, hotels, rentals and of course the ship. Only to have it all change on you in a moment. Memories and experience gone. If you’re planning on taking a Cruise to Alaska, I would not recommend Princess Cruise line for TRUE Alaskan experience.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
3.2/103/105/105/101/101/104/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Quantum of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star
Cruise Ship: Quantum of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 9.2/10
Destination: Bahamas

By CCotSeas
2016-05-24 02:10:40

Report this review

Ship Review: Ship is wonderful with a lot of new special features. North Star, the Skydive, the Bumper Cars.
One of the best places is Two70.
A lot of restaurants.
Very good for family holidays.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.2/109/1010/109/108/109/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

MSC Opera - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: MSC Opera
Cruise Line: MSC Cruises
Ship Rating: 5/10
Destination: Caribbean - All

By Mindi
2016-05-18 02:57:01

Report this review

Ship Review: Ship in good condition. Restaurants are to smal for the new amount of passangers (after adding some cabines). Food qualiti is good, but variation of food could be better (at buttet and main restaurants). Servis of baverages is much to slow, especialy at the buffetrestaurant and the bars on the pooldeck.
Excursions are not very well organized and often ther is some chaos on departure.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
5/106.5/105/105/104.5/105/104/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Carnival Legend - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Legend
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 9.7/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By NormH
2016-03-26 16:29:56

Report this review

Ship Review: Great ship had a lot of fun. Staff and Food were excellent. Entertainment was great. Plenty of room to relax. Enough variety of things to do to keep everyone entertained.

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.7/1010/109/1010/1010/1010/109/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Carnival Sensation - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Sensation
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 9/10
Destination: Bahamas

By NormH
2016-03-26 16:25:17

Report this review

Ship Review: Sixth trip on the Sensation and it never disappoints.

Excellent staff great food great entertainment enough room for everyone.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9/108/109/109/1010/109/109/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Norwegian Breakaway - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star
Cruise Ship: Norwegian Breakaway
Cruise Line: Norwegian Cruise Line
Ship Rating: 9.9/10
Destination: Caribbean - Eastern

By Ldccorp
2016-03-17 13:59:43

Report this review

Ship Review: Just completed a cruise on the Norwegian Escape on March the 12th. I read many reviews before I booked and was unsure of what awaited my wife and I on this BIG ship. We were worried there would be too many people to really enjoy this trip. This is our first long cruise (7days) and we worried about boredom also. I’m happy to say that it was a great experience! The only bad thing I have to say is getting around in Miami is an issue. From the time we arrived at the port and saw the ship, the trip was smooth as silk. Even getting our first drink at the bar while in port was easy with no waiting. For the entire trip we had no more than a 5 minute wait for anything, even the popular restaurants. We had a balcony near the aft end on deck 11. It was a great room and our steward, Rohan, was the most attentive and accommodating service person we could wish for. The rest of the staff were also very friendly and service oriented, from the wait service at the restaurants to the bartenders. We were treated like royalty, even without being in a suite or the Haven. Many of the service crew recognized us by name when they saw us and that just made the trip even better. We have been to several all-inclusive resorts, and this ship had more quality amenities than they did. We got the beverage and dining package, and it was better than most all-inclusives. There were very few beverages we couldn’t get, and if you really wanted Hennessy XO or J. Walker blue, you just spent the difference! The food at all the restaurants was outstanding, even the free ones. I would definitely recommend this cruise for anyone, even seniors (my wife and I are in our 60’s).
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.9/1010/109.5/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Ruby Princess - Review

Half StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Ruby Princess
Cruise Line: Princess Cruises
Ship Rating: 0.5/10
Destination: Pacific Coastal

By Kagero43
2016-03-15 13:24:43

Report this review

Ship Review: So in fairness, this review is about Princess and not the Ruby Ship. This is becasue our cruise never happened! Let me explain.

We (my wife and I along with my parents) have been long-time cruisers with Princess and very happy until a recent unfortunate cancellation of our cruise (Ruby ship departing LA, 01Oct 16 Cruise #R638). The cancellation was described to us as simply being "redeployed" but in actuality was cancelled because they were not profiting enough from this 7-day cruise (verified on March 15 when I called one of their Customer Service Rep), and they simply cancelled it at the expense of their customers who already planned and booked their holidays!


This is the first time they have done this to us and the last. Their only reply was that they notified us well in advance and that we now have $15 each in additional cruise credits if we rebook. The issue is not in the notification, burt in the way they terated us as "loyal" customers. This to me is simply not a way to treat long-time customers. I mention this here that we will never book again with Princess as there is absolutely no guarantee that they will do this again to us or anyone else for that matter, not to mention their inability to understand that a $15 pp cruise credit is simply insulting. I would understand if it were for reasons beyond their control. But to cancel for profit reasons and lay it on their customers is simple "wrong". Never again and bon voyage as we and my parents will never do business with them again - ever.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
0.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

AIDAmar - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: AIDAmar
Cruise Line: AIDA Cruises
Ship Rating: 7.8/10
Destination: Europe - Western

By Bastian_L
2016-03-10 02:13:30

Report this review

Ship Review:
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7.8/108.5/108/107/107/108/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Adventure of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Adventure of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 4.6/10
Destination: Caribbean - Southern

By Ronandrea1977
2016-02-18 14:13:10

Report this review

Ship Review: This was our 6th cruise sailing with Royal Caribbean and the second time on the Adventure of the Sea. We sailed on a number of cruise lines including Carnival, Norwegian & Princess. To be honest, we felt this time around, the cruise on the Adventure of the Sea was not up to par compared to our previous experiences.
My wife and I felt improvements are needed on this Royal Caribbean ship, especially for the entertainment offered on the pool deck & lacking production shows, if they want to keep up with the other cruise lines.
We realize were on a Caribbean Cruise, but that Caribbean music by the same group over and over for seven days, playing the same style music, gets boring. We have been on other cruise lines that have way more variety for their pool deck entertainment.
In addition, of the seven nights & only two nights with production shows with the Royal Caribbean singers & dancers, we felt the entertainment lacked. In addition, why did was a production show scheduled on Super Bowl Night?? That made no sense what so ever. One night in place of a production show was a mediocre comedian, anther night was an impressionist & then anther was a flutist. The night the flutist played the theater was not even half full; we never ever saw a so called production show lacking so much audience. Then to top it off, before the first song was even over, rows of people including my wife & I got up and left. We felt this was the worst show we ever witnessed on a cruise ship.
We also felt the food this time around was not up to par also, especially in the Windjammer Lunch Buffet. Thank god there were hamburgers every day, it lacked variety. I wanted to mention the great service we received from Alina Khafizova every day at the Windjammer Buffet, and she even filled in as our assistant waiter at dinner, she went over and beyond, very helpful & friendly.
We did observe on a number of occasions though that the tables in the Windjammer do not get cleaned properly. It seems the tables are wiped off with just a rag with no cleaning spray of any sort, so they are left streaky & unclean.
I was totally shocked to witness a couple tables being wiped off by a left over cloth napkin after clearing there dishes.
The main dining room food had good & bad choices. The chicken marsala was terrible, thick chunks of chicken, not pounded & tenderized, that were very tough. The marsala sauce was very bland / tasteless. Another night deep fried fish was served, we could not eat it. Why not broil it instead?? We even told the female waiter in charge of the dining room that improvements need to be addressed if she wants to keep up with the other cruise lines. Also, we noticed you could only get shrimp cocktail on formal nights and they did away with it on the other nights. In September of 2015 we wailed on the Norwegian Breakaway and I had mentioned at our dining table that the one thing we really liked about Royal Caribbean was they served shrimp cocktail every night and then to find out the first night of the cruise Royal did away with it. As far as our wait staff team, Rommel Isidro and Maksym Kolesnikob were both outstanding.
Our stateroom attendant was outstanding, friendly & helpful l. She always left our room spotless & cozy. The refrigerator in our cabin did not chill anything and needed to be replaced.
I must mention, something needs to be done for safety reasons especially when entering the Ice Show. When those doors open it’s like a stampede, there needs to be some order when entering. Also, Royal Caribbean management needs to inform their staff of the saving seats for the show. I mean people were saving rows of seats. I had mentioned to a few of the attendants that it is not fair to save that many seats at one time, but nothing was done to correct it. I blame management for not training them properly. We were in line 15 minutes prior to the show and ended up sitting 2 rows apart because of all the seat saving, there was no order what so ever.
My wife & I feel Royal Caribbean Cruises went downhill since our first one. But if these changes could be addressed, they could be back on top like years ago.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
4.6/103.5/107/104.5/108.5/102.5/101.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Displaying 1 to 10 of 1299 reviews
Add Tip or Discussion
Share this page
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews