Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 795 Cruise Ships
Home News Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Timelines Tickers Apps Search
Home > Reviews

Cruise Ship Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 1267 reviews

- Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star
Cruise Ship:
Cruise Line:
Ship Rating: 10/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Justmejenna
2014-10-13 13:33:33

Report this review

Ship Review: The ship is beautiful and HUGE, despite the size, the staff is as friendly, helpful and fun as on the smaller ships. Getting on and off the ship at port seemed much easier than in the past on other ships and the dining room staff a bit quicker.

The shows were a bit different as they incorporate lights and moving screens. This was different but not any less impressive.

The steakhouse is PHENOMINAL and well worth 35.00 per person extra! The food was amazing, the staff professional and you would not know you were on a ship by any means! - Book on the first night and you get a complimentary bottle of wine! Cant beat that!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Carnival Dream - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Dream
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 9.6/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Justmejenna
2014-10-13 13:32:52

Report this review

Ship Review: The ship is beautiful and HUGE, despite the size, the staff is as friendly, helpful and fun as on the smaller ships. Getting on and off the ship at port seemed much easier than in the past on other ships and the dining room staff a bit quicker.

The shows were a bit different as they incorporate lights and moving screens. This was different but not any less impressive.

The steakhouse is PHENOMINAL and well worth 35.00 per person extra! The food was amazing, the staff professional and you would not know you were on a ship by any means! - Book on the first night and you get a complimentary bottle of wine! Cant beat that!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.6/1010/1010/1010/1010/109/108.5/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Independence of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star
Cruise Ship: Independence of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 10/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Ivanrocko
2014-09-06 21:05:00

Report this review

Ship Review:
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Azura - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Azura
Cruise Line: P&O Cruises
Ship Rating: 8.8/10
Destination: Canary Island

By Jcomer
2014-08-17 16:08:12

Report this review

Ship Review: Great Cruise. Entertainment was fabulous especially comedian Peter Piper. Food was great apart from some nights there was not much variation. Overall though Fantastic Cruise.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8.8/1010/107.5/108/109/109/109.5/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Costa Fascinosa - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Costa Fascinosa
Cruise Line: Costa Cruises
Ship Rating: 7.6/10
Destination: Mediterranean - All

By Peter0904
2014-08-14 17:46:28

Report this review

Ship Review:
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7.6/107/1010/108.5/108/105/107/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Pacific Jewel - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Pacific Jewel
Cruise Line: P&O Cruises Australia
Ship Rating: 8.8/10
Destination: South Pacific - Australia

By Buntingtosser
2014-08-06 21:26:43

Report this review

Ship Review: Whilst starting to show her age she is well looked after and very comfortable.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8.8/108.5/109/109/1010/108.5/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Paul Gauguin - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Paul Gauguin
Cruise Line: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Ship Rating: 8.6/10
Destination: South Pacific - All

By Vacationv
2014-07-16 22:08:47

Report this review

Ship Review: Before you read this, let me remind you that you can I just produced a 15-minute slide/video of a compilation of our TWO Paul Gauguin cruises. The show includes the 14 day Marquesas, Tuamotus & Society Islands cruise and then we came back for more with the 13 day Tahiti to Fiji cruise.

Here is the link: http://youtu.be/h-nyiGr8VsU

This should give you a nice overview of what you will see, including a look at our pre and post cruise stays at the Hilton Resorts in Moorea and Nadi, Fiji.

If you enjoy and find it helpful, please give it a "Like" on YouTube and feel free to pass it along to others who may be considering Paul Gauguin.

Now to my review of our latest cruise from Papeete to Nadi in May, 2014.

You know there is something special about a ship when almost half of the 280 passengers are repeaters on a cruise line that sails very limited itineraries.

This was our second time sailing on the Paul Gauguin in four years. First we did a two week Tahiti, Society Islands/Marquesas itinerary. This May we wanted to see some new ports. We booked one way from Papeete to Fiji- 13 night itinerary, cut short a night by crossing the International Date Line.
We have been frequent Celebrity cruisers but as we get more seasoned traveling the world, we are scaling down to smaller ships like the Paul Gauguin, Seabourn.

There is nothing better than visiting a small village or port on a small ship. The alternative is disembarking with hoards of thousands of people from multiple Goliath ships.

Paul Gauguin does it right. The service is TOP NOTCH. It’s on par with the attention to detail we saw on Seabourn. In the dining venues, waiters made a point to get to know our name, our preferences and they made us feel special.
We especially like the country club casual dress code. As crazy as it may sound, we wouldn’t be opposed to shorts or jeans. We are simply not formal night folks and not having to dress up on our vacation is very appealing.

Food choices were wide and the quality was outstanding. If improvement could be made, we recommend more variety at their lunchtime menu, as the same menu and warmed over buffet offerings became tiresome. But for sure, Paul Gauguin is on target at breakfast and dinner. The food is fresh, well presented, portioned just right and delicious. The service gets high marks.

We upgraded to a larger verandah cabin (807- forward) and were very happy with the comfortable bed and ample storage and balcony area. If you are susceptible to sea sickness, pick a cabin mid-ship and an itinerary with fewer sea days. The Paul Gauguin rides well in gentle lagoons. She was built to sail the shallow blue waters of French Polynesia. She is prone to motion in open waters. I highly recommend the latest versions of the Transdermal sea-sick patches which are very effective these days compared to the earlier versions years ago.

We read reviews that some cabins were noisy and hot. We did NOT find that to be the case. Noise levels in the aft will likely diminish after the ship’s scheduled dry dock early this summer. Reportedly engine repairs are planned to alleviate a strong vibration which plagues the aft dining venues and cabins. The ship underwent a $7 million refurbishment in 2012, and we found her to be in great condition and well maintained.

While the television programming was limited and repetitive, including too much FOX News, the Guest Relations desk provided FREE DVDs of movies, which was a welcome addition to the onboard entertainment. Overall, entertainment was not memorable. Les Gauguines, local heritage singers and dancers, were as always, a wonderful addition to the cruise. The cruise director, Steve Wood, was seldom seen and his stage show was dated and “lounge-lizard like. A guest singer from France did not measure up to professional status and some walked out early in each of his shows. He just wasn’t a good singer. Surprisingly, the Filipino band and singer also fell flat. Their playlist of was dated and repetitive and their musical skills need some work. This was the first band from the Philippines I’ve heard that wasn’t very good.

The lectures were interesting and enjoyable. We knew the evening shows would be lackluster on a small ship so we opted to watch movies in our cabin. HELPFUL HINT: We always download movies on my laptop before we cruise and bring our own HDMI cable from home. Many ships at sea today have a port in the back of the TV to plug in a HDMI cable, which plugs into your laptop or video player. Bringing your own movies guarantees you’ll have handpicked video entertainment if you are not big party person late nights. If you aren’t familiar with an HDMI cable, ask your kids or seek the advice of a salesman at a big box electronics store. A cheap cable should cost you less than $30 or you can bring one from your TV at home.

We especially like the “all inclusive” atmosphere on this ship. Fares include all gratuities, most alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and all of the fine dining venues. It’s anytime dining on this ship with complimentary 24-hour room service and water sports.

After sailing two different itineraries, we much preferred the beautiful and unforgettable islands of Tahiti, The Society Islands and Marquesas. Fiji, The Cook Islands and Tonga were interesting and pretty, but just don’t match the “life changing” beauty of French Polynesia.

Make sure you add a day or two pre or post cruise and stay at one of the over-water resorts in Tahiti. We booked two nights at the Hilton on Moorea. I highly recommend their lagoon rooms which are built over the water and offer incredible views. Food is pricey but not unexpected when booking a remote property. This is bucket list stuff for sure.

The average age on our cruise was probably 65, but we were delighted to see some younger couples and professional people that made for a fun cruise. Personally, I think kids would be restless on this ship, without the usual kid’s club type of facilities.

The tender system was efficient and timely. We booked our own activities so I can’t comment on the ship’s tours. We prefer to “do our own thing” which grants us the freedom to tour on our on schedule.

We usually find it’s less expensive to make our own arrangements. When we are tired and ready to call it a day, we simply ask the driver to take us back to the ship rather than being part of a captive audience on a motor coach.

Paul Gauguin is not a cheap cruise, but it is worth every dollar spent. If you have the financial means, book a Business Class seat on Air Tahiti Nui or Fiji Air. They have nice service and it’s much more comfortable up front. This cruise line frequently offers discounts off of their brochure rates. It’s worth the investment for a voyage you will never forget. Like I said in the beginning- many on our cruise were sailing Paul Gauguin for the second or third time. They obviously have enjoyed the experience too.

Next stop-Celebrity Infinity round trip from Buenos Aires –Antarctica in February, 2015. Can’t wait for our next experience at sea!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8.6/108.5/109.5/108.5/1010/1010/105/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Ventura - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarHalf Star
Cruise Ship: Ventura
Cruise Line: P&O Cruises
Ship Rating: 9.4/10
Destination: Mediterranean - All

By Rhein
2014-07-05 18:10:24

Report this review

Ship Review:
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.4/1010/1010/109/1010/109/108.5/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

SuperStar Aquarius - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: SuperStar Aquarius
Cruise Line: Star Cruises
Ship Rating: 3/10
Destination: Asia

By Tatsulee
2014-06-08 20:17:34

Report this review

Ship Review: Worst cruise experience ever. Staff was ok, English speaking staff was more courteous than the Chinese speaking ones. They do need to train staff to at least acknowledge guests when they see them and not sit, smoke, and hang out in the hallways. The food was ok, but scarce, not much selection. They closed restaurants exactly on time even when there were guests in line, which was worse because they decide to close half the buffet early so everyone is crammed in one line. The lines in the ship are the worst. First thing you do when you board is stand in a four story high line to get a number to have a chance to reserve a table for the gala dinner. Then you sit in the theater for another two hours to actually be able to reserve that table (all the while the ship is leaving the port and there is sail away party on the top deck that nobody attends due to this dinner reservation madness). The safety training is a joke, most people do not attend because of the dinner reservation line, the ones that are there do not have the life vests, and the trainers are just going thru the motions. Then there are more lines to be able to meet with immigration and leave the ship, then even more lines to get your passport back.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
3/103/104.5/104/102/101/103.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Navigator of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarHalf Star
Cruise Ship: Navigator of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 9.5/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Moose
2014-05-21 10:52:11

Report this review

Ship Review: We had a wonderful time onboard the Navigator last week. We were met by almost an entire crew of smiling faces (one gentleman needs a lesson in customer service but that seemed to be an isolated case and not a pervasive issue on the ship so I did not mark off for service).

The food in the main dining room was excellent. The ship gets full marks for its selection and the quality of the food. However the food and service in the Windjammer were extremely lacking. We may have been spoiled with an above average buffet on our previous cruise because this did not meet the standard of even budget buffets on land. We were only visited by one crew member who gladly brought us coffee on our first day while we were in port, but after that there was no real drink service to be seen. Coupled with almost no difference in menu between days we avoided the Windjammer completely after the second day. If the buffet and main dining could be given individual ratings, the Windjammer would probably score a five or below.

Overall a marvelous ship that I was able to comfortably transport my disabled father across and off in our ports of call with ease. I would highly recommend this ship to new cruisers.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.5/1010/109/109/1010/109/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Displaying 1 to 10 of 1267 reviews
Please Contribute!
Did you know? 5 of our Tickers are showen on the
web every second! That's 13,140,000 a month or 157,680,000 times a year. That's a lot of bandwidth!

Cruise-ship.com was created in 2008 by a couple of guys for the fun of it. Over the past 6 years this site has taken on a life of it's own. So much so, as hobbyists running this site we're having a hard time keeping up with the demand & costs.

If you value our site and want to keep it a free service please consider making a contribution.
Share this page
Add Tip or Discussion
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews