Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 800 Cruise Ships
Home News Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Timelines Tickers Apps Search
Home > Reviews

Cruise Ship Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 1304 reviews

Brilliance of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Brilliance of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 6.7/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By FirefightermanSC
2016-08-18 19:17:16

Report this review

Ship Review: Our eleven cruise on a much smaller ship at 90,000 tons. The Brilliance of the Seas is not a ship with the bells and whistles but it did meet our expectations with regards to cruising with friends. With four couples trying to plan around a work schedule and limited vacation time we scheduled the 5 night cruise out of Tampa with two ports. We travel from S.C. to Wildwood, Florida for a one night stay than on too the port the next morning. We use Parking Doctors of which we were very pleased with. Drop off at the port and pick up both met our expectations with them.
Boarding the Brilliance was a breeze, arriving around the port at 11:00 AM and was on the boat within 20 minutes. Note that the Brilliance was the only ship in port at this time. Porters grab our bags as soon as we arrived at port. Than it was up the escalator to check-in to get the sea passes.
Here’s what we like and disliked about the cruise.

The likes.
Food was good in the Windjammer Café and the Minstrel Dinning Room. We ate at Rita’s Cantina for nachos that were very good one day but there is a cost $4.50 for Nacho’s, we liked much of the entertainment on board. The Quest Game on the last night of the cruise was just outrageous and funny the Spring breakers did make this game fun. The Band in the Centrum “Kronos” was one of the best I have ever heard live. I think they were a hit with everyone on board. All are very talented. The helipad was open and you could walk out to it in the very front of the ship, we took nice pictures there. The comedian was funny that told jokes in the Pacific Theater and the other that was a ventriloquist doing songs was excellent. We loved the Solarium area pool. Very quiet and relaxing area.
Dislikes
Month of March is Spring Break and there was lots of Spring Breakers onboard. Some drink to much and got out of hand, word was some were jumping from balcony to balcony and were kicked off the boat in Cozumel, which they deserved no doubt. No Banana daiquiris at all on this boat we have cruise with Carnival and NCL and they do have that flavor onboard. There was a lack of bar attendants walking around to take orders for drinks. The towel police was too aggressive, one tried to take our towels while we were in the pool swimming evening with our books and bags on the chairs. People do have to leave for bathroom breaks and such at times. The TV account in the room was always out of service so daily I had to go to the front desk to get my updated invoice. Chops Grill was a disappointment at a $70 surcharge a couple, I don’t know why Royal can’t do Ribeye Steaks, my New York Strip Steak was little over cooked and made it tough to eat. The Band in the Centrum area we watch one night from the floor above across from Next Cruise office is, I did not like the fact the young lady working in the office after it closed had a fit because we move some of the chairs out of the room to the balcony over looking the Centrum to watch the band.

In summary I thought this was a great cruise. The couples we were with made it more so. No this ship does not have the wow factor, it’s a basis cruise but you can have fun with the game shows and excursions and being with friends. I would not do Brilliance again.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
6.7/107/106.5/106.5/107/107/106/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Carnival Freedom - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarHalf Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Freedom
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 9.5/10
Destination: Caribbean - All

By CarnivalCruiser18
2016-07-27 18:00:06

Report this review

Ship Review: First Carnival cruise was on the Freedom, and this what got me hooked on Carnival! The ship was huge! Loved everything about it!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.5/1010/109/1010/109/1010/109/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Carnival Legend - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Legend
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 10/10
Destination: Alaska - Inside Passage

By CarnivalCruiser18
2016-07-27 17:49:23

Report this review

Ship Review: Yes I gave the Carnival Legend 10 stars on everything, why? Because it was an amazing cruise!! The staff was friendly, the food was great, the shows were amazing, and the ship itself was just beautiful! Not a single boring minute on this cruise! Second cruise with Carnival and definitely not the last either!!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

- Review

Half StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship:
Cruise Line:
Ship Rating: 0.5/10
Destination: Alaska - Inside Passage

By Sadtraveller
2016-07-07 12:54:11

Report this review

Ship Review: We had been long time Oceania customers till our May 20th 2016 cruise to Alaska. We had been booked to board in Vancouver and disembark in Victoria but 11 days before we were to leave we were told disembarking in Victoria was impossible and we would have to disembark in Seattle but not to worry we would be transported to Vancouver somehow. Due to medical issues long road trips are not recommended for me so we suggested flying from Seattle to Vancouver. This request was never acknowledged and no time-frame was provided to resolve the transportation issues, so we cancelled the trip. This was fortunate since the eventual method of transportation provided by the cruise line from Seattle to Vancouver was a 4 hour road trip. Even though we had a written and confirmed contract for our original arrangements, and the final transportation offered by Oceania could have been very risky for someone with my condition, the cruise line refused to accept our cancellation and refund our costs. Needless to say we have cancelled our 2017 Greenland cruise with Oceania and will never sail with them again. So beware that this cruise line does not stand behind their promises.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
0.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/100.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Veendam - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Veendam
Cruise Line: Holland America Line
Ship Rating: 4.8/10
Destination: Alaska - All

By Neveragain
2016-07-07 02:16:03

Report this review

Ship Review: We did a Land and Sea cruise with Holland American (HM) our second and probably our last. Land first starting at Fairbanks then boarding Veendam a week later at Haynes. Our flight to Fairbanks arrived at 1:00 AM so we had paid $132.79 each (which we thought a rip-off ) for early check in and were charged for it knowing we would arrive very late. When we arrived at Fairbanks Airport others with early check in were given their hotel keys and bused immediately to the hotel. Not us. They had no record of our reservation even though my showed them a valid reservation number. HM said it was the hotels problem.
When we got to the hotel about 2:00 AM we stood near the back of the line of about 30 while a lone clerk checked people in. The folks in front of us got a room for $100. The clerk had no record of our reservation and blamed HM. Our room cost $160? The clerk blamed the problem on HM. We got to bed about 3:00 AM. Remodeling work in the room next door started at 8:00 AM sharp. The next morning we tried to resolve the problem with the hotel manager without success but later they decided to refund the $160 and go with the $265.58. We thought we should be charged $100 like the folks in front of us as we had not received any early check in benefits.
We have tried very hard to resolve this but HM thinks that we got what we paid for, early check in. The thing you can concluded from this is that HM has no problem screwing someone who has spent thousands with them for $165.58. An interesting fact is that the cruise line owns the hotel so the finger pointing is just a ruse to get you to go away. We rate their customer service as zero!
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
4.8/106.5/104.5/104.5/100.5/105.5/107.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Norwegian Dawn - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Norwegian Dawn
Cruise Line: Norwegian Cruise Line
Ship Rating: 3/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By Strannik
2016-06-27 16:47:14

Report this review

Ship Review: Last year I was planning to write a review about my bad experience with Norwegian Sun during my cruise to Alaska but later decided not to do it. This year I took another cruise with NCL on Norwegian Dawn to the western Caribbean. It was the last trip of Norwegian Dawn before the multimillion dollar renovation and it came as no surprise that the ship was outdated and stained. But my review isn’t going to be about that, just let me mention that we did not use the pool and jacuzzis because they were old and dirty. Hopefully these problems will be fixed during the renovation, so there is no need to mention them.

But the renovation project by itself brought up another completely different problem normally not encountered on other ships. NCL decided to save time and money and start renovation during the cruise by performing some work at sea. It was very inconvenient and annoying having piles of plywood stocked on decks, workers removing old paint and repainting, and so on. Some of the passengers reported workers entering their cabins to perform work on their balconies.
Lesson learned: do not book a trip on a ship right before it is scheduled for dry dock.

Now on to things that can’t be fixed by renovation. First of all, I could not stop comparing this ship to a Norwegian Sun. Even though the Norwegian Sun is smaller than the Norwegian Dawn (78,309 GT vs 92,250 GT) inside, the ocean view and balcony cabins on the Sun are bigger than on the Dawn. Our tiny oceanview cabin was entirely occupied by the bed, leaving us no room for any movement other than going in and out.

The cabin service was almost nonexistent. On the sixth day of our cruise we ran out of soap - both hard soap and body wash. We discovered this only when we returned from the offshore excursion, and it took three phone calls to the Help desk and a lot of waiting to get the supplies.

The entertainment was boring even compared to the Sun and the TV on board the ship was running same the movies all 10 days.

We all know Latitudes Rewards Program is not the best in the industry. For example, as a silver member on Cunard I receive one free hour of Internet, and I do not have to buy any of their Internet packages. As a silver member on NCL I receive only 30 minutes free and only if I buy the 250 minute Internet package. But when I bought the 250 minute Internet package on Norwegian Dawn I did not receive my Latitudes rewards. I tried to talk to several people: the Internet manager, Help desk, and the Hotel manager without any results. The Internet manager I talked to first was very rude and did not listen to my complaint at all.

To be objective I should mention a few good things about this cruise. First and foremost the food was not bad at all. We loved the Le Bistro and Modesto restaurants and the food in the main dining restaurant and buffet was OK.

Of course buffet could have had more variety, and some improvements could be made, like advising the waiters not to grab plates without asking permission.

The ports of calls we visited during this cruise were also good. In my opinion it was a very good combination of exciting destinations to reach in one cruise. But this brings me to another matter often discussed on various forums by fellow passengers: not enough time in port. Even when our ship was scheduled to be in most ports from 8 AM until 5 PM the real timeframe for the passengers to be offshore was from 8:30 AM until 4:30 PM. In most ports sometimes even less. This is definitely not long enough to enjoy time offshore in a new port. Sometimes the distance to the next destination dictates a short time period that the ship can stay in port. Not in our case. Four of our ports of calls where in very close proximity to each other, sometimes less than 200 miles
(the distance from Costa Maya to Cozumel) but we still did not stay in port long enough. I wish Cruise companies will reconsider their position on this matter.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
3/103/102/102/100.5/108/102.5/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Crown Princess - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: Crown Princess
Cruise Line: Princess Cruises
Ship Rating: 3.2/10
Destination: Alaska - Inside Passage

By Roschepperle
2016-06-21 22:10:30

Report this review

Ship Review: We wanted to share our recent cruise experience to Alaska on the Crown Princess, May 6th thru 13th.
We have been on several cruises in the past and never have we experienced such disregard for the passengers. There are several things that went wrong with this Cruise: customer service was rude and condescending, the food was cold and nasty, and the ship was dirty on decks. This was Just an overall horrible experience. This cruise line started out bad and continued to go downhill.

We got to the cruise ship terminal early and went thru 2 customs lines; the entire procedure to get on board took about 5 hours. Which lead to a 4 hour delay in departure! Days and hours changed, times lost and wasted to the itinerary. Princess thought it was a good idea to come into Juneau from 2:30 to 11:30, would have worked, but changing us to come in on a Sunday (Mother’s Day) the town shut down at 7:30, wasting 4 hours in port.

Most of the food staff we’re rude! If you wanted something hot and fresh you have to fight with them to make that happen. Every food line you’re forced to use the hand sanitizer and if you didn’t they wouldn’t give you a plate. You think the food would have been fresh and hot. On most day’s we found the food to be undercooked or had been sitting out way too long. This was a reoccurring theme throughout the cruise. This is why I was extremely sick and retired to our cabin the first day.

The ship was dirty in areas; our cabin had stains on the pillow. The hot tub in the rear of the ship was not maintained, very dirty, with bottles, glass, trash, used towels, and the staff had the nets rolled into a ball were it could be tripped over. The crew painting near the food line, the smell of oil based paint was so strong and so close to the food eat made it hard to eat. We tried to enjoy the movie under the stars, but when we arrived there were no clean blankets but plenty of dirty blankets lying around. The blankets finally arrived 30 minutes into the movie.

On our way back home to Los Angeles we completed the survey received from Princess Cruise line. On the 18th Kyle from Princess called we went over the trauma we had experienced on the boat, all the memories lost and things we missed in Alaska. Kyle said there is nothing that he could do, they don’t have any control of what happens at the ports and that we signed paper work saying that we (Princess) has the right to change the itinerary and the only thing they would do for us if we travel with them again, is that they might be able to give us $100.00 each on board credit or a free meal. My husband laughed and said he would follow up with a letter and post on several travel websites about our experience. Kyle seemed a bit cavalier about it and said “that’s your right, go ahead.”

We followed up our letter to the president and customer relations department of Princess Cruise and Kyle return or call and offered us 250 pp discount on a future cruises. Which was still laughable and we haven’t heard back from there president yet.

We planned this trip months in advance. We took the time looking into things like cost, itinerary, towns, excursions, flights, hotels, rentals and of course the ship. Only to have it all change on you in a moment. Memories and experience gone. If you’re planning on taking a Cruise to Alaska, I would not recommend Princess Cruise line for TRUE Alaskan experience.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
3.2/103/105/105/101/101/104/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship

Quantum of the Seas - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star
Cruise Ship: Quantum of the Seas
Cruise Line: Royal Caribbean International
Ship Rating: 9.2/10
Destination: Bahamas

By CCotSeas
2016-05-24 02:10:40

Report this review

Ship Review: Ship is wonderful with a lot of new special features. North Star, the Skydive, the Bumper Cars.
One of the best places is Two70.
A lot of restaurants.
Very good for family holidays.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.2/109/1010/109/108/109/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

MSC Opera - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star
Cruise Ship: MSC Opera
Cruise Line: MSC Cruises
Ship Rating: 5/10
Destination: Caribbean - All

By Mindi
2016-05-18 02:57:01

Report this review

Ship Review: Ship in good condition. Restaurants are to smal for the new amount of passangers (after adding some cabines). Food qualiti is good, but variation of food could be better (at buttet and main restaurants). Servis of baverages is much to slow, especialy at the buffetrestaurant and the bars on the pooldeck.
Excursions are not very well organized and often ther is some chaos on departure.
Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
5/106.5/105/105/104.5/105/104/10
This user recommends this cruise ship

Carnival Legend - Review

Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters Star
Cruise Ship: Carnival Legend
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Rating: 9.7/10
Destination: Caribbean - Western

By NormH
2016-03-26 16:29:56

Report this review

Ship Review: Great ship had a lot of fun. Staff and Food were excellent. Entertainment was great. Plenty of room to relax. Enough variety of things to do to keep everyone entertained.

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.7/1010/109/1010/1010/1010/109/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Displaying 1 to 10 of 1304 reviews
Add Tip or Discussion
Share this page
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews