Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 800 Cruise Ships
Home Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Tickers Search

Norwegian Gem - Norwegian Cruise Line

In Service - 2007 to Present
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank Star
8.8/10 based on 137 reviews
8 written reviews
Norwegian Gem
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: On the Gem out of New York to the Eastern Caribbean. San Juan, St Thomas, St Maarten, Samana were all delightful this year. The ship was in great condition and sailed flawlessly the entire cruise. We had a run in with norovirus on the ship and pretty much tanked service in the dining rooms and buffet for a few days. We did not get sick. I hope that cruise lines can come up with a standard of service that has universal precaution built in that will keep the paying customers happy. This is my second time on the Gem and highly suggest this ship and its crew. Looking forward to my next cruise with NCL as I have put down another cruise deposit for a future date.

By andysmithers
2012-12-29 23:52:24

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7.8/109/107/107.5/106/108/109/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Great ship we got on and it still had that new ship feel. Launched late 2007 and we made a fall Western Med cruise out of Barcelona. This is a very busy cruise and way to packed for my taste. It went Florence, Rome Naples in 3 days. I was exhausted. I would do another cruise but i would sure make it less stressful. I wish they would take the Cigar bar away from the Tempenyakie and Noodle shop area. It always smelled like smoke. Bad layout and its like that on all of their ships. Still love NCL.

By andysmithers
2012-08-20 23:20:13

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8.2/1010/106/107.5/109/107/109.5/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: I only reccomend this ship cautioiusly. If you like Free Style dining its fine. You need to understand the cost though, both financially and structurally. Finaancially, all those options cost. There are only three free Free Style options. All the specialty restaraunts cost a fee so in my opinion Free Style Dining is certainly not free. Structurally, placing those restaruants all over the ship creates major flow problems. Deck hallways end in the middle of no where and the ship has very poor flow.

On our cruise in the med it was full of Europeans. For some reason Italians feel it is ok to let their children run around naked. They were rude and loud.

By myShips Facebook User
2011-03-06 00:22:16

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
6.7/1010/106/106/106/106/106/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Too crowded and everything you want to do is an extra fee. Didn't like the "Freestyle Crusing" at all. Didn't have that personal feel that other cruise lines do.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-07-05 11:20:59

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7.3/1010/106/108/106/106/108/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters Star

Ship Review: Great if you want the NCL freestyle cruising and not a large ship

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-27 07:55:15

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.7/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star

Ship Review: Ship launch, Medium sized ship, very colourful and fun with unique features such as the bowling alley, would suit older families.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-17 13:43:32

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.3/1010/1010/1010/1010/108/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Avoid European cruises in August. All of Italy and Spain were onboard with all of their kids running wild (3 to 4 kids per adult couple easily). Ship staff didn't do anything to keep control. Would have been a great cruise other than that. NCL's entertainment doesn't hold up to Royal Caribbean, though.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-08 10:33:11

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
6.7/108/108/108/104/108/104/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters Star

Ship Review: Was a great experience, lovely ship, nice crew, we had such a nice vacation on board.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-03 03:52:25

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.7/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: The Gem was the most fun I have had in a long time...the crew was friendly and amazing and always there when you needed them. The entertainment kept us laughing and busy all the time. I met a lot of great people that I still keep in touch with including people from the crew...can't wait to sail again!!!

By myShips Facebook User
2010-04-27 13:35:59

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: Such a nice ship and Have all modern amenities in it , Highly recommended

By myShips Facebook User
2010-03-21 06:30:54

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Add Tip or Discussion
Share this page
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews