Cruise Ships by NauticalCities
Cruise Ships
by NauticalCities
Compare Over 800 Cruise Ships
Home Cruise Ships Cruise Lines Reviews Photos Tickers Search

Westerdam - Holland America Line

In Service - 2004 to Present
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star
9/10 based on 155 reviews
7 written reviews
Westerdam
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: HAL just isn't up to their usual standards. Probably will be one of our last HAL cruises. Food and service really less than expected.

By myShips Facebook User
2011-05-28 19:27:27

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7/106/108/108/106/106/108/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Overall, we had a great time on this ship. However, it must be said that the food in the main dining room was awful. We dined in there only one (out of 7) evenings, which happened to be New Year's Eve and should have been a celebratory and wonderful meal. The "Happy New Year's Eve Salad" looked like someone had thrown a handful of lettuce leftover from the last cruise into a bowl, dropped two tomatoes on it and drizzled a few drops of some unidentifiable dressing over the top - yuck. The lobster tail was small, had very little meat to it and smelled like the sea. It was not good. It was not celebratory. The service was mediocre. We dined in the Pinnacle Grill four evenings, including their Le Cirque evening, and two nights in Canaletto, the Italian restaurant in one corner of the Lido.

In short, I'd recommend the ship if you're willing to pay for Pinnacle every night (or Canaletto), but save yourself the grief and don't bother with the dining room.

By myShips Facebook User
2011-01-30 10:15:47

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
7.3/108/108/106/108/106/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Lots of motion due to lack of stablizer use for "whatever the reason." I am swaying sitting here typing this. I will be swaying for days and days. HAL not as "special" as I have heard for years.

By myShips Facebook User
2011-01-07 16:37:55

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8/108/108/108/106/108/1010/10
This user does not recommend this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull Star

Ship Review: This was our first cruise with HAL and we were very favorably impressed.

There was a medical emergency on-board at our first port of call and I was impressed with the professionalism with which the staff of the ship handled it. The first tender that came to the ship took the patient ashore well before the scheduled debarkation. If we had not had a veranda cabin on that side of the ship and if I were not such an early riser by nature I would not have known that anything had happened at all.

The food was excellent and the Pinnacle Grill is not to be missed.

By myShips Facebook User
2010-09-22 12:25:11

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
10/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarThree Quarters StarBlank Star

Ship Review: Went on the ship as a TA, leading a group of 30 passengers. Everybody enjoyed the great service of the staff. As 1200 Dutch guest were aboard, we organised a Dutch night with mudic from artists like Hazes, Froger, Jan Smit and a special performance by dutch host Frank Freeman. He sang Tulpen uit Amsterdam (Tulips from Amsterdam) and Aan de Amsterdamsche Grachten (Alongside the Dutch Canals) with the audience. Great Fun !

By myShips Facebook User
2010-09-12 07:51:28

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
8.7/108/108/108/1010/108/1010/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarQuarter Star

Ship Review: really good ship nice and spacious

By myShips Facebook User
2010-06-16 03:17:35

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9.3/1010/1010/1010/1010/108/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Full StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarFull StarBlank Star

Ship Review: We are going back

By myShips Facebook User
2010-01-30 20:27:28

Report this review

Ship RatingConditionLayoutAmenitiesServiceFoodEntertainment
9/1010/1010/108/1010/108/108/10
This user recommends this cruise ship
Add Tip or Discussion
Share this page
My Profile My Tickers My Ship Photos My Reviews